Tinder

November 3, 2014 § Leave a comment

Tinder. That delightful little app that allows you to anonymously swipe left or swipe right for the people you would be interested in. Mostly used as a hook up app, but also linked to your facebook account, I was hesitant to use it due to how low key I am about my sex life. The moment I learned that it was linked to Facebook, I figured I would stay away.  But one of my closest friends who actually does know about my internet escapades and actually does it too suggested I should give it a try since I moved back to the bay area, so I figured I guess it wouldn’t hurt to try.

I’ve been doing the whole internet hook-up and meeting offline for a really long time. Call me out of the loop or old-fashioned in terms of meeting people offline, but I couldn’t get over how fast things moved on Tinder.  At least on websites like Fling and Adultfriendfinder, you would chat a few days and get a feel for the person before you decided you would meet the person. However, on Tinder it just happened so fast, you’d start with the pleasantries and then bam they’re asking you to meet right that second for sex. I’m all for fun and sex but, a random hook up without conversation doesn’t appeal to me.  I’ve already met a few weirdo’s on Tinder, and I’m just so glad I never met them in person. On the other hand, I have met a few people on Tinder that I’d be interested in meeting in person with, but they happen to be flaky as hell too. It seems I can never catch a break on Tinder.

With that being said, instead of using Tinder as my hookup app, I’ve decided to downgrade it to an app I use to meet new texting buddies and friends, since it doesn’t seem like a lot of people are actually interested in meeting so far.  I’ve already reverted back to Fling, which I’ve found to be the more reliable site for me in terms of meeting someone I could potentially have a FWB type relationship.  Again, there are hits and misses there too, but at least there I know for sure I’ll meet someone and am comfortable with the level of communication needed there before I decide to exchange numbers and meet with someone.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Tinder at lustful elysium.

meta